Office of
Research Services

Faculty Awards

UPDATE: For decades, our faculty have benefitted from the support generously provided by the UMKC Trustees for the Faculty Fellow and Scholar Awards. Previously, these awards were both presented annually. Beginning in 2022, each one will be alternately awarded every year. This change is a reflection of the performance of the funds that support the awards and not the UMKC Trustees’ commitment to research and the faculty. For this year’s award cycle, only applications for the Faculty Scholar Award will be accepted – the following year, the Faculty Fellow Award. Over time, the Trustees hope that both will return to be awarded on an annual basis.

Information on the Faculty Scholar Award can be found under the link UMKC Trustees' Faculty Fellowship Awards.  

UMKC Trustees' Faculty Scholar Awards

Deadline: April 11, 2022 - Only Faculty Scholar Awards applications will be accepted.

The UMKC Trustees' Faculty Fellowship recognizes faculty who have distinguished themselves through scholarship and creativity. Recipients are expected to serve as role models, mentor, and encourage other faculty members and students in pursuit of academic excellence.

N.T. Veatch Award for Distinguished Research and Creativity

Deadline: April 11, 2022 
$1,000 stipend

The N.T. Veatch Award recognizes distinguished research and other scholarly or creative activity accomplished by UMKC faculty. All full-time, regular faculty members who have been at UMKC for at least three years are eligible to be nominated.


2022 N.T. Veatch Award Winner - Professor Sean O'brien, School of Law

2022 Trustee Faculty Scholar Award Winner - Dr. Antonio Byrd, Department of English, Language & Literature